[Cerowrt-devel] some thoughts towards medals and other recognition for fundamental contributions to the internet

Dave Taht dave.taht at gmail.com
Thu Mar 5 11:21:53 EST 2015

On Thu, Mar 5, 2015 at 6:48 AM, Dave Taht <dave.taht at gmail.com> wrote:
> There are plenty of people involved in the bufferbloat project who
> already have got plenty of medals, awards and statuettes - Eric
> Raymond, Jim Gettys, Paul Vixie, Vint Cerf, Fred Baker, etc...
> And there are now a bunch of newer people that have made enormous
> contributions to making the Internet better, and it would be good to
> somehow, give them some recognition for that.
> Are there some set of medal granting organisations we could submit
> these peoples' names to?
> * Kathie Nichols and Van Jacobson - for making a fundamental
> contribution towards understanding the causes of network latency with
> codel
> * Jesper Dangaard-Brauer - for solving all the thorny rateshaping
> problems on PPPoe/ATM/DSL in his masters thesis (and in running code)
> * Tom Herbert - for the invention of BQL
> * Eric Dumazet - for the invention of fq_codel (and being the worlds
> greatest active network programmer!)
> * Juliusz Chroboczek - for solving nearly all the problems that
> distance vector routing had, and making source specific routing
> actually work
> * Greg White - for driving the DOCSIS 3.1 standard
> * Simon Kelly - IMHO, he deserves a knighthood and place in the
> mythology along with Tim-Berners-Lee - as unlike http, dnsmasq has
> been invisible, nearly as widespread, and far less problematic. He's
> England's national treasure, and just spent 3 years making DNSSEC
> deployable along the edge, besides.
> * PI, PIE teams.
> * No doubt I am not remembering someone, apologies! please feel free
> to offer up some suggestions! (but what I am mostly looking for is a
> (set of) place(s) to give names to!)


* Luca Muscariello and James Roberts - for fighting the good fight on
FQ after Nagle gave up.

As I thought about it, it started to get to be quite the long list,
and well, it's something work on as we try to find places for all
these people in internet history.

> Even without finding some separate medal granting org, I have longed
> to create a *new* award - an "Internet Pioneers Award".
> It would feature a statuette of an engineer, chained to a rock,
> marketroids eating his guts out, with a dozen arrows in his back, with
> hands outstretched - holding up a shiny new piece of technology.
> First up, for that award (and I can think of plenty of others
> eligible!), would be this guy:
> http://the-edge.blogspot.com/2003/06/wireless-connection.html
> ... without whom, it would have taken a lot longer for the entire home
> router market to exist.
> In addition to the statue that award would include an all-expenses
> paid trip to some tropical beach, somewhere, that didn't have
> internet!
> I see isoc does some stuff, the process for national science awards is
> not very clear... LF does some stuff...
> What else is there?
> --
> Dave Täht
> Let's make wifi fast, less jittery and reliable again!
> https://plus.google.com/u/0/107942175615993706558/posts/TVX3o84jjmb

Dave Täht
Let's make wifi fast, less jittery and reliable again!


More information about the Cerowrt-devel mailing list